Carroll A Smith Mentor Award

9/25/2018 10:18:41 AM   FormulaSAE Series

The Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup sponsored by SCCA Nationals recognizes outstanding contributions made by faculty advisors to the young engineering students of Formula SAE. The faculty advisor's role provides continuity over a long period of time, creates a positive and encouraging environment for the students, displays active involvement in all team challenges, upholds student-run character of teamwork, and is above all a professional role model.

The recipient of the Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup will have been involved in the Formula SAE competition managed by SAE International over a long period of time guiding young engineering students to conceive, design, analyze, build and compete with a very complex system for which the optimum solution is not well defined. The faculty advisor can be central to both the team’s and the students’ success not only in the competition, but also in life. The key element to the selection is that he or she will have given an extraordinarily amount of personal time and expertise to help the students’ professional development as engineers.

If you wish to nominate your faculty advisor for this award please submit a nomination letter by April 1, 2019 to Kaley Zundel, Formula SAE Program Manager at [email protected]

Past Winners:
1999 Dr. Bob Woods, University of Texas at Arlington
2000 Dr. Al George, Cornell
2001 Dr. Andrew Deakin, Leeds University
2002 Dr. Ken Cunefare, Georgia Tech
2003 Dr. Alan Nye, Rochester Institute of Technology
2004 Dr. Dick Gross, University of Akron
2005 Dr. Make McDermott, Texas A&M University
2006 Dr. Peter Jones, Auburn University
2007 Dr. Dan Dolan, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
2008 Dr. Gary Cloud, Michigan State University
2009 Dr. Robert Sorem, University of Kansas
2010 Mr. Doug Fraser, Dartmouth College
2011 Dr. Robert Paasch, Oregon State University
2012 Dr. Sergio Diaz, Universidad Simon Bolivar
2013 Dr. Byam Brooks, Saginaw Valley State University
2014 Dr. John Russell, University of New Mexico
2015 Dr. Craig Hoff, Kettering University
2016 Dr. Len Hamilton, University of Maryland, Naval Academy
2017 Prof. Cliff Stover, Cal Poly Pomona
2018 Dr. Randall Allemang, University of Cincinnati